Time to Move

It’s kind of cool that this blog has covered me living in what will soon 4 different places.  I started this blog in 2004 when I was living in Redmond, WA.  At the time, I used that and a gallery located on my server to communicate back home to my parents and friends.  I had never lived away from home, and the blog at that time allowed me to communicate back home in a way that had never before been possible.  Of course, now I’m like an old fuddy-duddy, because blogs are old-school, and nobody’s reading blogs and RSS and is dead and yadda yadda yadda.  Who cares, this technology is still the best for long form publishing on the Internet, so I’m going to keep on writing, if not frequently.

In 2005 and into 2006 I was heavily involved, because of this blog, in the videoblogging community and through it, a startup called Mycelia Networks, which produced FireAnt.  That was my first introduction to the Bay Area startup community and the Bay Area in general.  I had wanted at that time to consider moving to the Bay Area,  at least, in my head I did, but I began to wax philosophical about days gone by and friendships abandoned back in Arkansas, as well as a pending adoption, so we headed back to Arkansas for a year’s respite from real professional life and continued the startup work there.  I figured I was starting two companies, one local, one remote, hedging my bets, and who cared where I worked at a startup from anyways.  One startup folded and didn’t really need me; I ran out of money, again; and off to Colorado we went.

Over five years later, and it’s time to leave.  I very much enjoyed my stay here.  I met a lot of interesting people, but I am sad that I’m leaving behind so few friendships.  Of all of you I know and respect from Colorado, it’s been awesome knowing you, and I’m very sorry we weren’t closer.  That’s my fault not yours, and I wish I had been more open to having better friendships while I was here.  It’s something I hope to correct in California.

And now, on to California.  I love the Bay Area.  I’m so excited to be coming.  I do, very much, plan for this to be the final move.  I have the Pacific to the West, Napa to the North, Yosemite to the East, and Disneyland to the South.  I have a pool in my backyard.  I have a job that is currently in contention for the best job I’ve ever had.  I’m not sure life can get much better, and with a few resolutions for our new life in my head off I go.  Thursday will see us riding into the sunset.  So long Colorado, it’s been great!  California, here we come.

4 Comments on “Time to Move”

  1. Donna Sharp says:

    And so now, another episode of Clint and Melanie’s excellent adventure begins. Safe journeys in your travels and all the best in your new home. We love you.

  2. arik harrison says:

    Good luck buddy!

  3. cohawkfan says:

    I will continue to bug you periodically anyway! Enjoy your new home!

  4. Ram says:

    Wishing you Good Luck Clint!!

    -Ram


Leave a Reply

