Time to start writing thoughts again

A couple of things have happened recently which has made it to where I believe it’s time to start writing thoughts, publicly, again.  First, I’m relatively certain people do not read this, at least regularly.  Secondly, even though I have advanced significantly in my career and I am now a very competent middle manager, I believe my entire happiness in my work life is suffering simply because we seem to defer to political correctness.  Making sure no one’s feelings are hurt rather than running an organization as a meritocracy where the best ideas win seems to be lay of the land, at least in American business these days.  I used to not be afraid of putting my thoughts out there, now I seem to be in constant fear that being liked is the most important aspect to career advancement.  I have decided that while I have come very very far in the last few years attempting to ensure that I am effective at change in a large organization due to being well liked and respected, I will no longer place being liked ahead of stating what I think will be in the best interest of our organization.  That does not mean I intended to go back to being a daft prick like I have been in former years, but I will be firm on my thoughts on the direction our organization should be taking.  I want these ideas to stand on their own, so this will be immediately followed by another post on being too customer centric.



Leave a Reply

