I didn’t vote!

Couple of comments in the last post about me not voting in the last presidential election. Well, as with all things I don’t do it usually comes down to laziness. I moved to Washington and didn’t get around to registering to vote here, because I had never changed my drivers license to establish residency. I was still registered in Arkansas, but I didn’t get around to setting up to vote absentee. So I didn’t vote. However, I’ve never bought into the idea that since I didn’t vote I can’t complain. I tend to take the George Carlin view of things, which I’ll quote here:

“I don’t vote. Two reasons. First of all it’s meaningless; this country was bought and sold a long time ago. Secondly, I believe if you vote, you have no right to complain. People like to twist that around – they say, ‘If you don’t vote, you have no right to complain’, but where’s the logic in that? If you vote and you elect dishonest, incompetent people into office who screw everything up, you are responsible for what they have done. You caused the problem; you voted them in; you have no right to complain. I, on the other hand, who did not vote, who in fact did not even leave the house on election day, am in no way responsible for what these people have done and have every right to complain about the mess you created that I had nothing to do with.�-George Carlin


3 Comments on “I didn’t vote!”

  1. Tyler Gates says:

    How long did it take you to google that crap to vindicate yourself and prop up your ego?

  2. Clint Sharp says:

    About 3 minutes. I’m a pretty good googler.

  3. Luis Garcia says:

    Didnt vote?, I understand perfectly, in our county (PR) if you dont vote you would be booed down to death, in such a small island where the government is the largest employeer, its spoken everywhere. Its always been interesting to see how it pan’s out every 4 years, they all promise the same thing and do the same thing, the littlest as possible. Still you see tons of students who vote to be ‘independent’ but have cars and other things at the cost of Federal school grants. You see them complain about Vieques (Outer islands user for exercises), and the same day the Marines left, they trashed the place, now its worthless.

    Its allready a common phrase to say “Just put a tent and you got the circuis’. Just as many other holidays, voting in PR is a holiday, yes a considered a ‘holiday’, a task where literally no work is done, even stores and bars are not allowed to sell alcohol until midnight that day… Anyhow with that said I always like to try and think my vote did something even if recycle the government employee’s each 4 years.


Leave a Reply

