What am I getting myself into?

Of course, with all the excitement about moving back to Fort Smith, there’s still the sadness that overcomes me when I read things like this from local citizens in the Southwest Times Record Letters to the Editor:

NEW ORLEANS FULL OF SIN

My heart grieves with the righteous and poor of New Orleans, and I can understand their anger at the slowness of relief efforts. For days, FEMA, state, county and local officials knew that Katrina, a category five hurricane, was going to strike somewhere in that region of the gulf coast.

Emergency supplies of food, water, cots, blankets, tents, generators and so forth could have been requested and strategically placed near enough but out of the way of the storm’s path. Emergency caravans of buses, trucks and other ground transportation could have and should have been contracted and staged.

Hindsight is always 20/20.

But in their defense, New Orleans has for decades been a hotbed of spiritual and sexual idolatry, a place where Voodoo and satanic rituals are regularly practiced.

Who’s to say that the mighty hand of Almighty God hadn’t finally had his nostrils filled and with one mighty swipe taken it all out? If I lived in other areas of the country, where godlessness and spiritual and moral idolatry have become the norm, I think I would either start moving closer to God or I’d start moving.

God has created this world and he was pleased with His work, but sin has come into the world and turned it into a violent and wicked cesspool. My faith teaches me that Christ is coming again, only this time not as a little baby, but as a ruler with a rod of iron in his hands.

Christians can you not hear the trumpets blow “to arms, to arms”? It’s time the truth is preached and people’s eyes opened by the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Denny Neff

Lavaca

It makes me sad that anyone could be so ill-informed, full of malice and hatred, and so far removed from his religion’s teachings. Residents of Lavaca, if you know Denny Neff, please give him a swift kick in the ass for me and tell him what a shithead he is. Denny, you make me sick.


3 Comments on “What am I getting myself into?”

  1. adam says:

    Ummm, Clint, you realize that you can’t change these people’s minds….right?
    It’s called heredity. Not the DNA kind. The cultural kind.

  2. adam says:

    Sorry, just realized that was a really shitty comment. Of course heredity is surmountable. I was trying to make the point, however harsh, that if you are choosing to move back into this culture, that maybe you shouldn’t badmouth them so directly. But shit, I guess they ain’t watchin’ anyhow, so fuck ’em, right? Dammit, there I go again. Ok, I guess I truly have a grudge against the southern states. But rightfully so. I grew up across the river from Kentucky. They treated blacks like newly freed slaves in Henderson, KY. “That Jim Brown, boy, he’s so ELOQUENT”. Like that was the best compliment you could possibly bestow on a “colored fella”.
    Fuck, Clint. I have to say, I’m damned happy to be out of range of that kind of inbred racism.

  3. […] « links for 2005-09-17 Follow-up to the last post In my last post, I hilited a letter to the editor in the local paper from my h […]


Leave a Reply

