The Neutron Bomb Inventor

I wonder sometimes why I subscribe to Boing Boing. I’ve rarely found anything on there that I’ve found interesting. In fact, I don’t believe I’ve ever even linked to them. I guess I’m being a lemming and following the inertia they’ve developed figuring that if I don’t subscribe I’ll miss something interesting. It turns out (even though it may not be worth it, since I’m sure someone else I read will link to this as well) that every once in a while they do produce a gem of content. Today they have an exclusive article, written by Charles Platt, a former Senior Writer at Wired, about Sam Cohen, the inventor of the Neutron Bomb. The Neutron Bomb is a term I’ve not really heard since my childhood, of which I have vague memories of people talking about the horror of the idea. Frankly, I always thought it was interesting, a bomb that would kill people but not destroy the infrastructure. It always seemed like a win/win for me, if we were going to be killing people in the first place. Sam Cohen fought his entire working life to convince people it was the most humane weapon possible, and, as is usually the case, his story, and the story of the bomb itself, is much more interesting and far more compelling than the memoirs and stories of any politician I’ve read. This is a must read. The Boing Boing story is here and the PDF containing the actual story is here.



Leave a Reply

