Interview Day at Microsoft, the follow-up

I received word today that Microsoft will be going for an internal candidate for their open Channel 9 position. I think they would be remiss, at least for this posting, to not do so. The job entails seeking out and getting interviews with personnel throughout the Microsoft organization. Someone like myself who is coming from outside, who has virtually no idea of how Microsoft is organized, would not be the best candidate for that position against someone who already has contacts throughout the organization. It would be akin for me interviewing for a print press position covering the White House or Capitol Hill and knowing absolutely no one in Washington.

It was an honor to get to speak to Jeff Sandquist, Robert Scoble, and Charles Torre (there was another very nice woman whom I interviewed with named Jennifer, but I don’t know if she’s as out there as the rest of team so I won’t mention her last name). If you don’t frequent Channel 9, you really should. I haven’t made it there since Friday, but every time I stop by I get pulled into an interesting conversation. Microsoft truly is leading in transparency, and even they don’t know where it’s going to lead. It’s a truly exciting time in the world of new media.

I received very good feedback on the interview, despite not getting the position. Apparantly the team felt I would be a fit for Microsoft, which is good news, but now I need to decide how much time I feel I can spend marketing myself for other positions. Interviewing is very taxing, and having gone through three in the last month and a half, I’m not sure how many more I want to do. It’s extremely tempting to just wait until the end of the year and take my package. We’ll see. I’ve got a lot of decisions to make in the next few weeks and months.

Thanks again to the Channel 9 guys for the glimpse inside their team and opportunity to speak to them. It was truly an honor. Keep up the good work.


3 Comments on “Interview Day at Microsoft, the follow-up”

  1. Gigi Kinsler says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You definitely know what youre talking about,
    why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be
    giving us something enlightening to read?

  2. Hello very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally?
    I am happy to search out so many useful info right here within the put up, we want develop extra techniques in this regard,
    thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  3. cat tunnel says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that produce the greatest changes.

    Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

