Eric Rice does some cool shit

I’ve been watching the last couple of Eric Rice’s videos from his vlog. He does some really cool shit. I’m just starting out in this video thing, but I’m coming to realize:

# There’s a lot of skill involved here
# There’s a lot of time involved here

Eric, if you’re reading this, you’re doing some cool shit. For instance, you’ve got access to either some equipment or some software I don’t, because I’m pretty sure with a my camcorder I couldn’t get shots that show only my face and a black background without being ridiculously grainy (it would help if I had a 3 CCD camcorder, but alas, need mo’ money). Maybe it’s simple, and you used a black backdrop? Maybe there’s an effect in your software I don’t have? I don’t know, I’m just too new to the video thing. The other stuff I think I could do with effects from iMovie or third-party effects (or maybe I need FinalCutPro?), but I’m just amazed at the quality of stuff being produced by videobloggers. I’m assuming most of you are amateurs, but I think maybe my assumptions are wrong.

Anyways, I feel honored to be entering into a community that, along with just sharing your thoughts and feelings through video, also contains a crew of skilled members that can produce video content on par with what you’d see on Television or out of Hollywood. It’s so exciting!

One Comment on “Eric Rice does some cool shit”

  1. Eric Rice says:

    Behind the scenes of making cool shit

    Clint from Typhoon.org gave some props to my recent podcast video promo. He also thought there was some hot shit setup to stage the shot. Not really, and here’s the backstage pass in daylight of ‘the set’. 😉


Leave a Reply

