Two items

Two news items caught my eye in recent days. Actually, many articles have caught my eye considering the interesting week we’ve had newswise. From the removal to 2 more Scott Peterson Jurors and the subsequent verdict, to the death of Arafat, you could say there’s been a lot going on. But those stories are pretty straight forward and really don’t need any commentary. But, 2 things in particular really raised my hackles.

The first is the news that Vitamin E could be bad for you if taken in really large doses. Wow! No kidding? I’m 30 years old and in my lifetime I’ve heard this news story at least 100 times – just substitute “vitamin e” with beef, eggs, sugar, alcohol, etc. Is the concept of “everything in moderation” so difficult to understand. Apparently it is. So we can all expect to start seeing new supplements touting thier own “safe alternatives to vitamin e”. Within a year or two people will be treating vitamin e with the same insane fear as those “evil” carbohydrates. Speaking of this low or no carb craze, I want to say that for the first time in years, I weigh less than 125 lbs. (122.3) to be exact, the majority of my clothes are too big or unflattering in their unshapelyness. Luckily I’ve always wished for a smaller bust – luckily because even bras I purchased when I was 19 (yes, I kept a couple of bras from that era because I grew out of them so fast they never got worn) are a wee bit oversized. And even more amazing than breaking the 125 barrier is that I’ve done this without purchasing one book with “weight loss” in the title. It all boils down to healthy eating and even more importantly, exercise. Which really means; everything in moderation. What a concept .

Onto the second item.
It seems that Michael Moore is planning a sequel to Fahrenheit 911. As I’ve stated before, I don’t have a problem with Moore making movies of these sorts, but he’s really a bit mislead in his beliefs as to his contribution. With this film, I don’t take issue with his decision to make a sequel, but I have issue with something he said about why he is doing it:
“Fifty-one percent of the American people lacked information (in this election) and we want to educate and enlighten them,”
I can only assume that the 51% he speaks of, would be every single American who voted for Bush. The belief that every vote cast for Bush was a vote cast in confusion or stupidity is highly insulting – even for him. Sorry to say, but many people voted for Bush with full understanding of the truth about weapons of mass destruction, the war in Iraq, the Patriot Act, etc. Moore suffers from the same syndrome as poeple like Rush Limbaugh, Neil Bortz, and Dr. Laura – the belief that if you don’t agree with their point of view, you must not have the information they have. It’s a bad belief – you’re not likely to keep many friends if you truly feel this way.



Leave a Reply

